EDP Sciences
Free access
Volume 404, Number 2, June III 2003
Page(s) 661 - 668
Section Formation and evolution of planetary systems
DOI http://dx.doi.org/10.1051/0004-6361:20030496

A&A 404, 661-668 (2003)
DOI: 10.1051/0004-6361:20030496

A grid of synthetic spectra and indices Fe5270, Fe5335, Mgb and Mg $_\mathsf{2}$ as a function of stellar parameters and [ $\mathsf{\alpha}$/Fe]

B. Barbuy1, M.-N. Perrin2, D. Katz3, P. Coelho1, R. Cayrel2, M. Spite3 and C. Van 't Veer-Menneret3

1  Universidade de São Paulo, Rua do Matão 1226, São Paulo 05508-900, Brazil
    e-mail: pcoelho@usp.br
2  Observatoire de Paris, 61 av. de l'Observatoire, 75014 Paris, France
    e-mail: Marie-Noel.Perrin@obspm.fr,Roger.Cayrel@obspm.fr
3  Observatoire de Paris-Meudon, 92195 Meudon, France
    e-mail: David.Katz@obspm.fr,Monique.Spite@obspm.fr,Claude.Vantveer@obspm.fr

(Received 30 August 2000 / Accepted 20 March 2003 )

We have computed a grid of synthetic spectra in the wavelength range $\lambda\lambda$ 4600-5600 Å using revised model atmospheres, for a range of atmospheric parameters and values of [ $\alpha\mbox{-elements/Fe}] = 0.0$ and +0.4. The Lick indices Fe5270, Fe5335, Mgb and Mg 2 are measured on the grid spectra for FWHM = 2 to 8.3 Å. Relations between the indices Fe5270, Fe5335 and Mg 2 and the stellar parameters effective temperature $T_{\rm eff}, \log\; g$, [Fe/H] and [ $\alpha$/Fe] , valid in the range $4000 \leq T_{\rm eff} \leq 7000$ K, are presented. These fitting functions are given for FWHM = 3.5 and 8.3 Å. The indices were also measured for a list of 97 reference stars with well-known stellar parameters observed at ESO and OHP, and these are compared to the computed indices. Finally, a comparison of the indices measured on the observed spectra and those derived from the fitting functions based on synthetic spectra is presented.

Key words: stars: abundances

Offprint request: B. Barbuy, barbuy@astro.iag.usp.br

SIMBAD Objects
Tables at the CDS

© ESO 2003